Royston Road, Cudworth, Barnsley, S72 8AA

01226 719700

Cherry Dale Primary School

Learn Together, Grow Together, Succeed Together

Teaching and Learning in the EYFS


The EYFS begins at birth and lasts until the end of the school year in which children turn five and begin Year 1. The EYFS curriculum is a planned programme of learning opportunities to help all children make progress towards a set of Early Learning Goals. These goals outline the skills, understanding, knowledge and attitudes that are expected at the end of the EYFS.

The EYFS is organised into Prime and Specific areas of Learning,

The three prime areas are considered particularly important for igniting curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building children’s capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

They are:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development


The prime areas are strengthened and applied through four specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


Quality play experiences form the basis of each day in Foundation Stage and children are encouraged to initiate and develop their own ideas, working with other children and adults in a variety of contexts both indoors and in the outdoor classroom.

The environments are organised into distinct areas of provision to enable children to access organised and challenging experiences and activities based on their current needs and interests. Play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, to think about problems and relate to others


EYFS Writing Progression Document